top of page

RECENT POSTS: 

Practicing What I Preach

As a registered dietitian, I all too often have found myself saying, “Do as I say, not as I do.” Healthy eating and exercise were once necessities when I was a runner, but when I stopped competing, these things fell down on the totem pole. Nutrition was purely a career path, not a lifestyle. Up until a few months ago, I would have to say the only consistent thing I was doing was being inconsistent in my workout plan. I would go through phases of healthy eating and exercise, only to quickly lose motivation because I felt like I wasn’t working towards a specific goal. My priorities were definitely out of whack.

Why should you care about all of this? Well, I am hoping that I can give you some guidance in overcoming the “yo-yo” dieting and exercise. I am not someone who had this sudden dramatic enlightenment overnight and now I do yoga daily and go on juice cleanses. I simply started practicing what I preach by viewing nutrition and exercise as fuel for my long-term health and overall well-being.

Are there days where I indulge in some unhealthy food? Absolutely.

Are there days when I don’t feel like working out? 100%.

While these down days would totally throw me off in the past, I now look at these days with zero guilt. I just have to get back on track the next day! No biggie. One day isn’t going to make me gain 20lbs or lose my endurance.

Here are some of the tips and tricks I tell my patients (that I actually started doing myself!) in order to make healthy eating and exercise a habit...

Become self-aware not self-critical.

The first step in becoming self-aware is to record how you feel. You can actually write this down in a journal or in a note on your phone. Then answer the following questions...

Did I exercise?

Did I eat well today?

Was there an event during my day that promoted significant stress? Happiness?

Did I cope with stress effectively?

Over time, you will be able to notice trends and habits. You may find that you do not manage stress well on days you don’t eat well. Or, you may discover that you have more energy on days that you workout in the morning. You can also identify certain meal patterns, emotions, or times of the day that prompt episodes of over eating. Becoming self-aware helps you discover what works and what doesn’t work.

Do not have tunnel vision.

Breathe, think, evaluate all possibilities, and find a solution. If there’s a bump in the road, such as an injury, do not automatically tell yourself that you are giving up on your exercise plan. Knee pain? Do an ab workout, stretch, and make a plan to call your doctor if the pain persists.

Progress, not perfection.

No one and nothing is perfect. Focus on the progress you are making and treat any obstacle along the way as a learning opportunity to make you stronger. Obstacles are not failures. You have to push past the obstacle rather than turning around and going home because you're afraid of failing.

Embrace change.

The only constant in life is that nothing stays the same. How boring would it be if life was consistent, predictable, and static? Do not let a change throw you off your game. Stay on track!

Have a long-term goal not related to physical appearance.

A long-term goal that goes deeper than physical appearance will strengthen your motivation. Do you want to lead a healthy lifestyle to be a role model for your children? Does eating healthy and exercising regularly give you more energy throughout your day? Are you trying to improve your blood sugar control or lower your cholesterol? Are you able to manage stress more effectively when you are committed to a workout plan?

Do not fear the unknown.

The unknown can be uncomfortable and even scary, but it is important to understand that you cannot predict or control the future. Shift your attention to what you CAN do: work hard, take risks, have a little faith, and go with the flow.

Stop comparing.

With social media permeating our lives, it can be hard to not compare. What is portrayed on social media is covered with filters and you do not know what is going on behind the scenes. The only beneficial comparison is you now vs. you in the past. Use this comparison to develop the best version of yourself.

Ask yourself, “What am I going to do?”

Millennials are characterized by their sense of entitlement and being all talk with no action. It’s time to change that. If you want to achieve something or make a change, you must take action and work for it.

Food as fuel.

Carbohydrates, fat, protein, water, vitamins, and minerals all play a role in our bodies. Just like fueling a car, you must view food as your opportunity to provide your body with the best fuel possible in order to operate effectively. Get a wide variety of whole foods that are minimally processed and low in sodium, added sugar, and saturated fat.

Getting bored with a workout? Switch it up!

Having the same routine day in and day out is no fun! Don’t be afraid to try something new. Working out should be enjoyable, not a chore.


  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Instagram Basic Black
  • Twitter App Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon

FOLLOW ME:

RSS Feed
bottom of page